Community Home

Announcements

  • 2017 Fire Season GIS Specialist Webinar

    Please share with your mailing lists:
    2017 Fire Season GIS Specialist (GISS) Webinar #1
    Join us for a webinar on Feb 22, 2017 1:00 PM EST.

    Register now:
    https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7786695548941883393


    Time:
    9:00 AM Alaska
    10:00 AM Pacific
    11:00 AM Mountain
    12:00 PM Central
    1:00 PM Eastern

    Objective: To inform wildland fire incident GIS resources about the status of topics impacting the 2017 fire season.
    Overview: Sponsored by the NWCG Geospatial Subcommittee (GSC).
    Questions should be submitted via email prior to webinar or may submitted during webinar via question dialog box (attendees will be muted). Webinar will be one hour in length. Qualified GISS and GISS trainees are invited. Situation unit leaders also invited.
    Webinar will be recorded and posted to http://www.nwcg.gov/committees/geospatial-subcommittee.
    After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

  • new 2017 website: Mechanized Forest and Fire Operations

    Helpful, technical information and examples of using forestry and heavy machines for wildfire, fuels reduction and timber operations.

Latest Shared Files

Community Blogs

  • If there are folks in the audience that directly participated with the Bear Butte 2 Fire Medivac Site (RLS 2014 - Logging Unit Complex) construction, or has pictures of it, or knows the particulars, I would like to use this as a case study specifically...

  • As we prepare for the 2015 western fire season and are in the midst of Rx fire in the east -- here are a few resources for mobile technology to keep in mind: 1. The Mobile Technology in Fire and Aviation Management Community website ( this one!...

    1 person recommends this.
  • Since the migration to Windows 7, I had not been able to connect my Garmin 60 csx to my HP laptop via the latest version of DNR GPS for shapefile and waypoint uploads and downloads. I tried all the different USB ports on the laptop and monitor, downloaded...

  • A smoke advisory has been issued for eastern LA County, including Diamond Bar, Walnut, San Dimas, Pomona, La Verne and Claremont, and western Riverside and San Bernardino counties. http://www.myfoxla.com/story/25391147/etiwanda-fire

  • Fire-Setting Ranchers Have Burning Desire To Save Tallgrass Prairie - NPR " On the day that I watched the fire at Konza Prairie, there were so many fires in the Flint Hills that ozone levels in Wichita exceeded federal limits. On other days this...